Phryne Fisher Phryne Fisher

Phryne Fisher

Created by Kerry Greenwood (1954--)

Imagine Honey West as a flapper with a vorocious sexual appetite -- and a clue.

In a popular series of novels by Australian author Kerry Greenwood, society gal and flapper turned private eye PHRYNE (pronounced "Fry-Nee") FISHER prowls around jazz-era Melbourne, Australia, getting into all sorts of mischief, both sexual and otherwise, bouncing along from marvelous mansions and the swankiest of night spots to the lowliest of dives, armed only with a come-hither look, a pearl-handled .38 and a diaphragm.

But she's no bimbo.

Sure, she's a flirt, and she's not above using her feminie wiles to get what she wants, but she's also got a shrewd eye for detail, a cunning mind and some awesome detective skills, and she's fueled by a steely determination to put things right.

Of course, her sexual appetites were tuned way, way down when the series was produced for television, but in casting Essie Davis, the Australian producers may have just lucked onto the most sexually charged female private eye in television history since Anne Francis took on the role of Honey back in the sixties.

That, and the scrumptious production values (plus an author still pumping out original source material) kept the show going for three seasons, attracting a decent following -- or at least a decent enough following to inspire fan conventions, a Kickstarter campaign to finance a feature film, Miss Fisher and the Crypt of Tears, and even a special edition of Cluedo.


  • Cocaine Blues (1989; aka "Death By Misadventure")
  • Flying Too High (1990)
  • Murder on the Ballarat Train (1991)
  • Death at Victoria Dock (1992)
  • The Green Mill Murder (1993)
  • Blood and Circuses (1994)
  • Ruddy Gore (1995)
  • Urn Burial (1996)
  • Raisins and Almonds (1997)
  • Death Before Wicket (1999)
  • Away With the Fairies (2001)
  • Murder in Montparnasse (2002)
  • The Castlemaine Murders (2003)
  • Queen of the Flowers (2004)
  • Death By Water (2005)
  • Murder in the Dark (2006)
  • Murder on a Midsummer Night (2008)
  • Dead Man's Chest (2010)
  • Unnatural Habits (2012)
  • Murder and Mendelssohn (2013)...Buy the book..Buy the audio.Kindle it!



    (2012-14, ABC [Australia])
    Based on characters created by Kerry Greenwood
    Writers: Deb Cox, Drew Proffitt, Chris Corbett, Shelley Birse, Michael Miller, Liz Doran, Ysabelle Dean, Josephine Martino, Kelly Lefever and Elizabeth Coleman.
    Directed by Tony Tilse, Kate Dennis, David Caesar, Clayton Jacobson, Emma Freeman and Daina Reid
    Producer: Every Cloud Productions: Fiona Eagger and writer/producer Deb Cox
    Starring Essie Davis as PHRYNE FISHER
    With Nathan Page as Detective Inspector Jack Robinson
    Hugo Johnstone-Burt as Constable Hugh Collins
    Ashleigh Cummings as Dorothy "Dot" Williams
    Richard Bligh as Mr. Butler
    Travis McMahon as Bert
    Anthony Sharpe as Cec
    Miriam Margolyes as Aunt Prudence
    Tammy McIntosh as Dr. Elizabeth "Mac" Macmillan
    and Ruby Rees-Wemyss as Jane

  • Series One...Buy on DVD...Buy this Blu-Ray
  • Cocaine Blues" (February 24, 2012)
  • Murder on the Ballarat Train" (March 2, 2012)
  • The Green Mill Murder" (March 9, 2012)
  • Death at Victoria Dock" (March 16, 2012)
  • Raisins and Almonds" (March 23, 2012)
  • Ruddy Gore" (March 30, 2012)
  • Murder in Montparnasse" (April 6, 2012)
  • Away with the Fairies" (April 13, 2012)
  • Queen of the Flowers" (April 20, 2012)
  • Death by Miss Adventure" (April 27, 2012)
  • Blood and Circuses" (May 4, 2012)
  • Murder in the Dark" (May 11, 2012)
  • Memses' Curse" (May 18, 2012)

  • Series Two...Buy on DVD...Buy this Blu-Ray
  • Murder Most Scandalous" (September 6, 2012)
  • Death Comes Knocking" (September 13, 2012)
  • Dead Man's Chest" (September 20, 2012)
  • Deadweight" (September 27, 2012)
  • Murder A La Mode" (October 4, 2012)
  • Marked For Murder" (October 11, 2012)
  • Blood At The Wheel" (October 18, 2012)
  • The Blood of Juana the Mad" (October 25, 2012)
  • Framed for Murder" (November 1, 2012)
  • Death on the Viner" (November 8, 2012)
  • Dead Airr" (November 15, 2012)
  • Unnatural Habitsr" (November 22, 2012)
  • "Murder Under the Mistletoer" (December 22, 2012)

  • Series Three...Buy on DVD...Buy this Blu-Ray
  • "Death Defying Acts" (May 8, 2015)
  • "Murder and the Maiden" (May 15, 2015)
  • "Murder and Mozzarella" (May 22, 2015)
  • "Blood and Money" (May 29, 2015)
  • "Death and Hysteria" (June 5, 2015)
  • "Death at the Grand" (June 12, 2015)
  • "Game, Set & Murder" (June 19, 2015)
  • "Death Do Us Part" (June 26, 2015)


Eyes at Work in Australia, Tasmania and New Zealand

Respectfully submitted by Kevin Burton Smith.

Drop a dime. Your comments, suggestions, corrections and contributions are always welcome.
"...and I'll tell you right out that I'm a man who likes talking to a man that likes to talk."

Copyright 1998-2018, All rights reserved.
Web site by The Thrilling Detective Web Guy.